Game Classification

Achilles Ben Olding Games, Armor Games Inc., 2008  

Informations Analyses Serious Gaming





This title is used by the following domains:
  • Entertainment


This title targets the following audience:
Age : 12 to 16 years old / 17 to 25 years old
General Public


The gameplay of this title is Game-based
(designed with stated goals)

The core of gameplay is defined by the rules below:

Similar games

Achilles In Achilles, the player takes control of the famed Achilles in a side-scrolling hack-and-slash game where the main goal of the level is to decimate the opponents.

There are two different modes to play, Normal and Survival. In Normal the player fights in five different stages with three different levels, at the end of each level the player will face a main boss. In Survival mode the player continues to fight an endless supply of opponents until the player's lives are used up.

There are three different types of soldiers (not including the end bosses), a swordsman with a shield, a spearman and archers. The swordsman swipes with swords while spearman will jab with their spears (killing them will drop their spear, letting the player pick up the spear and use it as a weapon) and archers just stand and fire arrows. Each stage the opponents will become more strong and harder to kill, along with being more armored and dressed in more vibrant colors.

There are two different types of controls, either using the "A" button to move left, the "D" button to move right, the "W" button to jump and the "S" button to duck and block shots with their shield or pick up spears. Using the "T" button to swipe at opponents with his sword or using the "A or D" button combined with the "T" button to throw a spear at an opponent. The "Y" button is used to kick an opponent to temporarily disable an opponent. On the other hand side, using the directional buttons to walk left or right, jump and dodge and the "4 & 5" button on the numeric pad to swipe and kick.

There are five lives in all to use, but once the player is killed, Achilles will take a few moments to rise and continue to fight the opponent where they left off. Once these lives are used up, the player can go back and play previous levels, but with the lives they had during the level (for example: if the player is has four lives in the third level and he is killed in the fifth level, the player can go back to that third level and start out with those four lives). Opponents can also be heard approaching offscreen with the sound of a sword slashing through the air. While swordsman and spearman will walk in off screen, Archers can be more devious and fire an arrow before appearing onscreen. [source:mobygames]

Distribution : Retail - Commercial
Platform(s) : Browser (Flash)